Published on January 10, 2016 by

Passing Through: – Friends, Please visit my Poet friend “Passing Through’s” YouTube channel: , and support him – Thanks 🙂

3. Allegro con fuoco (B flat minor → B flat major)

The Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Op. 23, was composed in November 1874 – February 1875 at the instigation of piano virtuoso Nikolai Rubinstein, director of the Moscow Conservatory. It was revised in the summer of 1879 and again in December 1888. The concerto is the most famous of the three piano concertos written by Tchaikovsky.

The concerto follows the traditional form of three movements:

1. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso – Allegro con spirito (B flat minor)
2. Andantino simplice – Prestissimo (D flat major)
3. Allegro con fuoco (B flat minor → B flat major)

The concerto is famous for the dramatic tension between soloist and orchestra. It is markedly symphonic in character and differs considerably from the more musically conservative and outwardly virtuoso type of concerto that was then widely popular in Russia, however, the technical demand placed upon the pianist remains considerable.

Performed by: Artur Rubinstein

(We appreciate Wikipaedia’s contributions in the descriptions here)


Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.